Dr Dayan de Fontgalland


Consultant General & Colorectal Surgeon

Dayan is a general and colorectal surgeon and has been a consultant at Flinders Medical Centre since 2014. He was the Surgical Superintendent at FMC from 2014-2016 and is an honorary senior lecturer at Flinders University, College of Medicine, and Public Health

He graduated from Flinders University in Medicine in 1998, and with a doctorate in 2008. His doctorate involved 4 years of scientific research in the neural circuitry of the human gastrointestinal tract.

He consults from Flinders Private Hospital, Ashford Hospital, Seaford Day Surgery Centre, and South Coast District Hospital.

Having trained at Royal Melbourne hospital and St. Vincent’s in Melbourne, his main area of interests are colorectal cancer and complex inflammatory bowel disease (IBD SA). He has been the hospital supervisor of training for the ANZTBCRS fellows from 2014-2020. He provides ongoing surgical supervision to the Colorectal Fellow at Flinders Medical Centre which includes overseas fellows.

Dayan has subspecialty expertise in minimally invasive / laparoscopic (keyhole) colorectal surgery for inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) Crohn’s & ulcerative colitis and is affiliated with IBD SA and endometriosis; and complex pelvic surgery and proctology, including haemorrhoid surgery, perianal fistula disease and pilonidal disease. He also offers a broad range of General Surgical procedures and is GESA accredited for colonoscopy.


  • Flinders University Private Research Scholarship 2004
  • Roy & Marjorie Edwards Scholarship (Royal Australasian College of Surgeons) 2005-2007
  • Pfizer Neuroscience Grant 2007

Subspeciality Training:

  • 1 year general surgery fellowship at the Lyell McEwin Hospital (Adelaide)
  • 2 years of subspeciality training in colorectal surgery via the Australian and New Zealand Training Board in Colorectal Surgery (MCSSANZ) at Royal Melbourne Hospital and St. Vincents (Melbourne).


  • CCrISP instructor
  • RACS SA State Committee Member
  • Clinical Advisor to the ACHA MAC Committee